IPL Orange Cap 2024, Previous winners and current competitors

IPL Orange Cap 2024: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the world’s most popular T20 cricket competitions as it attracts billions of fans worldwide annually. The next edition of the tournament is just around the corner and millions of cricket enthusiasts are eagerly awaiting its arrival.

The major feature in IPL is “Orange Cap” that goes to a player who scored maximum runs throughout the season. This accolade has a special meaning because it identifies exceptional batting displays by individuals during a whole season.

IPL Orange Cap 2024
IPL Orange Cap 2024

When he got the Orange cap with an incredible score of 890 runs in the 2023 IPL season, Shubman Gill from Gujarat Titans was on top. With the new season closing in on us talks have been ongoing about who could outdo Gill and etch their names into the annals of IPL history.

What this IPL Orange Cap?

It is an orange colour cap given to batsman scoring highest number of runs in any single session forms part of Indian Premiere League (IPL). It gives high regard to players being consistent contributors or factors behind team performance when it comes to match performances.

Predicting Top Contenders for IPL Orange Cap in 2024

There will be several strong contenders for winning this cap in upcoming year. These include legendary cricketers like Virat Kohli, David Warner and Shreyas Iyer as well as young guns such as Sanju Samson, Ryan Parag and Faf du Plessis who have proven their abilities under pressure situations; especially with gigantic scores.

Virat Kohli

One cannot ignore RCB legend “Virat Kohli” whenever we think about “Orange Cup”. Despite his recent struggles, his record speaks volumes about his run-scoring ability and dominance over opponents on field.

Shreyas Iyer

The last season saw KKR captain Shreyas Iyer display his class and composure with the bat. As the 2024 season approaches, this could be a huge opportunity for the young man to make it big in life by simply winning himself an Orange cap.

Sanju Samson

Sanju Samson, Captain of Rajasthan Royals, is famous for powerful shots and hitting maximums with ease. The coming season will give him ample chance to improve on his consistency levels and compete for the highest scorer’s title.

David Warner

David Warner, Australia’s explosive opener has now joined Delhi Capitals and is a three-time Orange Cap holder. He has been known for aggressive batting and consistency while scoring that makes him a strong competitor to win his 4th Orange Cap.

Faf du Plessis

Faf du Plessis is a seasoned campaigner who leads Royal Challengers Bangalore from front. Despite not being at the forefront, his game plans along with leadership qualities make him one of favourites towards winning “Orange Cup”.

Ryan Pollen

Ryan Parag an emerging star who plays for Rajasthan Royals has shown glimpses of brilliance in his previous seasons. Known for versatility in stroke play, he might shock many as he becomes the top run getter in 2024.

As IPL 2024 gets nearer, the chase for Orange Cap looks set to be tough showcasing both outstanding talent from experienced campaigners and upcoming stars demonstrating their abilities on cricket field globally.

Here is the list of IPL Orange Cap winners from 2008 to 2024

Time of YearWinnerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate50100Highest Score
2024 (Latest Updated)Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bengaluru20367.66140.972083
2023Shubhman GillGujarat Titans89059.33157.8043129
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals86357.53149.0544116
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK63545.35136.2641101*
2020KL RahulKXIP67055.83129.3451132*
2019David WarnerSRH69269.2143.8781100
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH73552.5142.448084
2017David WarnerSRH64158.27141.8141126
2016Virat KohliRCB97381.08152.0374113
2015David WarnerSRH56243.23156.547091
2014Robin UthappaKKR66044137.785083
2013Michael HusseyCSK73352.35129.56095
2012Chris GayleRCB73361.08160.7471128
2011Chris GayleRCB60867.55183.1332107
2010Sachin TendulkarMI61847.53132.615089
2009Matthew HaydenCSK57252144.815089
2008Shaun MarshKXIP61668.44139.6851115

IPL 2024 Starting Lineups: An Entertaining Season Awaits with Top Notch Batsmen in Queue.

Old hands such as Kohli, Warner and Iyer will be joined by up-and-coming youngsters like Parag as they eye the top scorer’s award and a captivating performance.

As the tournament unfolds, look forward to fantastic cricketing displays, unforgettable moments and fierce competition among batsmen. Watch closely for the next IPL 2024 Orange Cap winner!